Knitting

Chunky stuff!


Hey guys!!

It’s been awhile. I hope everyone had a lovely Christmas and a smooth transition into 2017. Are you a resolution maker? Aaand, are you still keeping that resolution? Ha. Well, I’ve never been a huge New Years resolution kinda person, but I do believe in trying to be better and doing the best that we can. So good for you if you’ve made those goals!

Today I’m popping in to share with you one of my most recent finished projects. A simple seed stitch cowl in super bulky yarn! The yarn used here is ‘Isaac Mizrahi’ in the color ‘downtown.’ I’m sure if you’re an obsessed Michaels shopper like myself, you’ve seen it hanging out in the yarn aisle. This stuff works up super quick, so if you’re looking for something that will provide you instant gratification of your skills, then go get a skein. Β The one down side- its a little more on the pricey side, BUT I only used one skein to make this cowl. Β A friend of mine had purchased and asked me to make a scarf out of it and I was lucky enough to get to keep the extra skein she had purchased, in exchange. So thank so much to my good friends for that.


Now, super chunky yarn. I have a bone to pick with you. If you follow me on instagram (@youvebeenyarned) you’ve seen a few of my frustrated posts, where I express having a hard time getting back into knitting with worsted weight. I have never been a chunky yarn type of person. For whatever reason I was just never into it, until this last Christmas. I now understand why everyone obsesses over it. It’s QUICK!! … and we all know that knitting takes twice as long as crocheting so as you can imagine, knitting with chunky is the way to go. That being said, I’m still a worsted weight gal at heart, so going back to that after using such large yarn was hard. I couldn’t get in the groove again, because all the sudden worsted weight was comparable to crochet thread.

So my friends, what I’m saying is, don’t be afraid to try the chunky stuff, just don’t say I didn’t tell you so when you try to go back to worsted ;). Please someone tell me I’m not the only one who has had this issue lol.  😜 I’ve since gotten my passion back and am starting to enjoy my yarn stash again. Yippee! More patterns coming at you hopefully very soon!

As always, hope everyone is doing well. Until next time.

Leave a Reply

