Crochet · Uncategorized

Pattern // Chunky Christmas stocking

 

img_5757

I have a NEW pattern for you all, and I’m so excited about it!!!! It’s a Chunky crochet stocking!

A month or so ago, I decided I wanted to make our stockings this Christmas.  My first thought was that I would knit it, because I was up for the challenge and that’s the look I wanted.  That being said, I was still open to crochet if I found a pattern I loved.  I searched high and low for the perfect pattern and I even bought a knitted one to try.  After a couple attempts and frogging each one I thought, I can create my own can’t I?  It wouldn’t be that hard right?

I began with a worsted weight yarn, and the stitch I wanted to use (thanks to my handy dandy crochet stitch dictionary). I started my pattern from the cuff down and soon realized that it would be easiest to start at the toe.  At this point I had already spent more time than I wanted -between searching for patterns and beginning my own- that I quickly changed my mind about worsted weight and decided to go with a bulky yarn instead, and I’m so glad I did! They are so much more cozy and cute looking with a bulky weight. Not to mention QUICK. You can make one of these in a couple hours or less! Turn your favorite Christmas movie on and you’ll have it done by the end of the movie.

The yarn I chose to use for this stocking is Charisma by loops and threads, sold at Michaels. If you like working with chunky yarn and haven’t tried Charisma, I suggest you go get some right now! Its super soft, and easy to work with! It looks very nice.

The heel took some trial and error but I am very pleased with the finished product and I’m grateful to all my pattern testers for helping me get the details right.  You can find this pattern in my Ravelry shop as well as on Etsy.  I hope you will try it out 🙂

Merry Christmas! I hope everyone is staying warm and having a happy Holiday season 🙂

img_5759

 

Leave a Reply

