Crochet · Uncategorized

Working with Caron Cakes

img_5209

I have to admit that at first I wasn’t all that into Caron cakes.   I’ve never been a huge fan of self striping yarns (especially slow changing colors) but I LOVED the way they looked and they got such a huge hype that I couldn’t resist trying them out. The color combinations and large selection was hard to turn down!  My first couple projects were a baby hat and a cluster stripe beanie hat. They turned out ok, but it just wasn’t the WOW factor that I would have liked, and had been seeing all over Instagram.

A few weeks ago , I was at Michaels (favorite store!!) and I saw the Red Velvet Caron cake. I instantly thought of Christmas. The colors reflect the season so well in my opinion.  From then on I was inspired to create my Caron cake cowl.  It is an easy pattern using just two stitches: Single crochet and double crochet. It has flexible texture and a great finish.  What I love about the Caron cakes is that they are 20% wool which makes them a lighter material in comparison with 100% acrylic, yet you still have that softness.

img_5430img_5433

Michael’s is having a HUUUGE yarn sale right now, so if you haven’t tried Caron Cakes, go grab some! Also, if you shop at Michael’s often and are not part of their rewards program, be sure to join for awesome coupons 🙂

You can find my Caron Cake cowl pattern in my Ravelry store as well as in my Etsy shop.

Thanks for reading 🙂

img_5431

Leave a Reply

