Crochet · Uncategorized

My new found love of cotton yarn 

I’ve never been a huge fan of cotton yarn. I’d use it for dishcloths whenever I would make those, but that wasn’t very often. It wasn’t until recently that I realized the awesomeness of cotton yarn! When I’d use it before, I think it was on things that cotton yarn just wasn’t ideal for and so I didn’t care for it.

I’ve decided to venture into making and listing items in my etsy shop that I normally wouldn’t and I’m really enjoying it! I’ve been busy making things like cup cozies, coasters, and I’m currently working on a crossbody pouch pattern that is super awesome made with cotton! I’m loving how it turning out.

I’ve found cotton yarn to be best when making crochet accessories that might stretch while in use. Cotton yarn has less stretch than acrylic so it’s ideal for those pouches , purses and bags. Another thing I love about cotton yarn is it has a more firm finish which is nice for a bag.   It’s also more absorbent and so therefore makes great coasters.

I’m still experimenting with which cotton yarn I like the best. I’ve gone between Lily sugar and cream  and Hobby Lobbies- I love this cotton. I’m finding both are great but one might be better for certain things than the other. The lily sugar and cream is more rough where ‘I love this cotton’ is softer and more flexible. I love them both!

Are you a cotton fan? Let me know what you make! I’d love to hear from you.

2 thoughts on “My new found love of cotton yarn 

Leave a Reply

